What kind of mother doesn’t post anything about her child’s Halloween experience until the middle of November??  A busy one, I guess.  A mom that’s trying to juggle full-time work (in retail, no less!) , the rest of her family, grocery shopping, etc.  Sigh.  Why can’t I just be inherently rich?  Blogging and eating bonbons all day long?  A girl can dream.

Anyway, Halloween was another good experience this year.  Scout’s friend Jacob came along to trick or treat once again.  Isn’t begging for candy from strangers so much more fun with an accomplice?  In true Scout/Aspie form, Scout went as a Barrel Of Toxic Waste.  He got this idea from his beloved ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ comics.   It was a big success, getting lots of great comments, but not so fun to run around in across root-infested lawns, up and down stairs, and around curbs in the pitch.  Scout looked like a cartoon himself, trying to run from house to house with his little legs only able to take baby steps as he went.  Of course when one is getting boat-loads of free candy, one doesn’t notice.  It was another successful haul.  So successful, in fact, that Mom ate all of the Snickers and now he’s old enough to notice.  I had to promise next time we go to the store I’d buy him a full-sized one.

Overall, things are going well.  I would say the meds Scout is on definitely is helping his temperament.  He can roll with the punches, go with the flow, much easier these days.  Blessed C-man does his homework with him and says he isn’t as quick to get frustrated and upset, which of course is a very good thing.  Scout had a sleepover at a friend’s house over the weekend, which of course makes me want to jump for joy.

He has again started practice for the Geography Bee at his school.  It’s interesting, this year he is not studying for it and talking about it as much as last year.  I’m curious how he’ll take it if he doesn’t do as well.  Of course if he doesn’t it will be everyone else’s fault but his own.  Ownership and consequence is something we constantly work on.  They are concepts he just doesn’t seem to understand and/or care about.  It’s a worry that plagues me as I try to cling to my mantra, ‘day at a time, day at a time’…and not wonder how in the world he will ever complete anything on his own as an adult.

Guess I’ll go back to my Snickers and finish this blog post…

