Trick or Treat, smell my feet, give me something good to eat! I guess I’ll never grow up, ‘cuz this still makes me laugh.  How was your Halloween?  Did you do anything special?  I’m pretty old fashioned when it comes to the this holiday–well, holidays of any kind, really.  We don’t need to go to a mall or theme park, good ol’ dressing up in costume and begging your neighbors for candy is the way we do things around here.

Following Scout around while he happily runs from house to house in the dark is definitely a highlight of my year.  Sure, I complain about the cold, but I really love seeing his happy face and I myself get a little secret joy seeing how much loot the little guy rakes in.  This neighborhood is not stingy!  Many give out full-sized candy bars.  OK, maybe it’s not the healthiest of things, but it sure is fun.

The best thing about this Halloween was that Scout had a friend to go Trick or Treating with!  What was really great was that he was a black Ninja and his friend was a white one–totally unplanned on their parts, but they made a great pair!  I have to admit, even though I love the special time between us as we walk and laugh under the moonlight together, the past couple of years I’ve felt a bit sad seeing packs of kids run around together.  I know full well that that will probably never be Scout’s experience.  But just him having a partner in crime this year made me so incredibly happy.  And him, too. More than likely, happier than he would be with a group of kids.

After all, it’s pretty much the window of what Scout’s life will more than likely be.  He’ll never be part of a pack, he’ll have a handful of good friends throughout his life…if he’s lucky.   And the older he gets, the more I see this actually becoming a reality.  That is the best treat I could get on Halloween night.  (well, that and an Almond Joy…or two….)

