I have to say, I do love the view out my back window. Our yard is quite big and it butts up against a city-owned wooded paradise.  There are paths that run through that go by a creek, across a railroad track and eventually to a hidden man-made BMX bike jumping area you have to see to believe.  So cool!  These woods definitely spark the imagination of young and old alike, and Scout is no exception.

Of course this is the boy who’s always had a taste for adventure and an appreciation of the exotic. (hence knowing where Borneo is at the age of six!) One of his favorite past-times is to explore the Google maps app on his iPod Touch, zooming in on crazy places like Osea Island or the Isle of Man. (did you know there is even the Calf of Man?? The things you learn from your 9 year old!)

Recently we started reading a book called ‘Tunnels‘ together, it’s the first in a series of three.  I picked it up for his birthday, thinking an adventure story about a boy obsessed with digging for treasures and ancient discoveries that comes upon a secret underground world would be right up his alley.  I guess I was right, as this evening upon discovering what looked like the rim of a large pipe (or maybe a tunnel?!) at the edge of  the yard he proceeded to grab the shovel and start digging.

I have to say that I was surprised that he knew just how to dig.  He knew how to put the tip of the shovel in the dirt, put is foot on it and step down, and then push down on the handle with his body to get more leverage.  He must have gone at it for a good 20 minutes or so.  So many kids on the spectrum don’t seem to have a lot of muscle strength and tend to be a bit klutzy, so I was pleasantly surprised at his prowess!

I hate it when I find myself assuming that he won’t be able to do something, which I realized at that moment that I do quite often.  Sure, it took him longer than most kids to ride a two-wheeler bike but he pedals all around the neighborhood now, even riding up on the curb and back down again.  He’ll get on his scooter and jump it up into the air, just like other boys do.  As he gets older and more mature he tries more things and gets himself out there.  I’ve gotta stop assuming he won’t be able to do something just because he’s an Aspie.  Of course I never let HIM know that I think these thoughts, but I certainly don’t want to set him up to fail even in my own mind.

He has given up on the tunnel for the night, but I’m sure he’ll be back at it.  I wonder what he’ll find in there?? Scout says:

Did you know that if you dig all the way through the earth you won’t be in China?  You’ll end up somewhere in the middle of the Indian Ocean.

