Yes, we are still alive!  This post should be talking about oh-so many things…Scout’s 11th birthday, the fact that he’s been seeing a social worker who has referred us to yet another doctor that specializes in OCD and tics that he believes may be coming on from his meds, Scout acing the Geography Bee at his school and now going on to State in less than a week…all such important things to share, but alas….not tonight.  My school studies have taken so much of my time that I haven’t been able to share much of Scout’s adventures these days…I will get to it, I promise–but for now there is something else I want to make sure you all know about!

Recently my friend James contacted me about a fabulous school called Minnesota Life College.  Being that April is Autism Awareness month we thought it would be a great time to shed a little light on this gem.  In reading about this place I felt honored to share what I’ve learned.

Minnesota Life College, or MLC, is a not-for-profit vocational and life-skills training program for young adults with learning disabilities and autism spectrum disorders.  Not only do they help them learn and grow in a safe and caring environment, MLC partners with organizations and business to help facilitate the graduates find work.  Many graduates go on to live in an extension of the community called GLC, the Graduate Living Community.  For you parents out there wondering just where your child will fit in once they finish high school, doesn’t this just sound like a dream??

Watching these video success stories of Jason and Anna-Lisa is so heartwarming.

I have to say, even though Scout has got a few years before I have to start worrying about the college thing (OK, you got me…I started worrying about college the day he got his diagnosis!) it really surprises me that this school is right outside my back door and I have never heard of it.  I don’t know if he’ll need such a place or not, but it sure makes me breathe a bit easier knowing it’s there.  Please spread the word and let people know this is there for them!!!

